## national atlas. gov TM **MASSACHUSETTS COUNTIES** Massachusetts has 14 counties. There **NEW HAMPSHIRE** are 3071 counties in the United States. VERMONT Counties are the primary legal divisions of most states and generally are functioning governmental units. They are known as "parishes" in Louisiana. In Haverhill Alaska, Census Areas are used for statistical purposes, while the principal governmental units are boroughs. NEW YORK North Adams Lawrence Maryland, Missouri, Nevada, and Essex Franklin Virginia also have independent cities, Fitchburg Gloucester government units outside the Lowell Greenfield jurisdiction of any county. Middlesex Pittsfield Suffolk Berkshire Boston Norfolk Hampshire Worcester Norfolk Suffolk Framingham Worcester Quincy Holyoke Westfield • Hampden Norfolk \*Springfield Brockton Provincetown Plymouth Taunton. Cape Cod Bay Bristol RHODE Fall River Barnstable Hyannis ISLAND CONNECTICUT New Bedford Nantucket Sound Albers equal area projection Dukes Nantucket

NEW YORK

**U.S. Department of the Interior** 

**U.S. Geological Survey** 

The National Atlas of the United States of America®